top of page

How-To: Mini Mood Board



Hi loves!!! I know I stated a few weeks ago that I was going on a short break to focus on school, but I'm too excited to share my mini mood board tutorial that I have recently made. A mood board is known as a type of collage consisting of text, photos, color swatches, etc... that are used by many graphic designers, fashion designs, and architects. A mood board is an easy way to acquire inspiration for projects, clothes, films, etc... And here are the steps to my simple mood board!

Need:

Scissors

Tape or glue

Magazines

Poster Board

How-to:

1. First, decide what aesthetic, color scheme, overarching theme, etc...you want your mood board to be such as having a bright, yellow aesthetic, or one that captures your travel inspiration. I decided to do a mood board that captured powerful and beautiful women.

2. We all definitely have a growing stack of magazines so I advise you to gather old magazines and flip through finding photos and text to cut out. I recommend taking one magazine, ripping the pages out that you like, and cutting out the photo or text at the end of flipping through that magazine and repeat. I personally had lots of old Teen Vogue's, Vogues, and Seventeen magazines laying around, but you can use any magazine. Just remember to have fun and cut out any photo or text you draw inspiration from!


3. You can lay your mood board out anyway you like, but I decided to use watercolor paper because I didn't have poster board laying around. I have also seen mood boards on people's walls or white boards. Ultimately you can decide where you want your mood board to be on. After you have decided this, lay out the photos you have cut out on the paper before taping or gluing them. After you organized your photos, precede to tape/glue them. I used tape instead of glue as it made it easier to overlap the cutouts. And make sure you have perfected your mood board as you have liked!

4. aaaand you're done with the mood board making part! but lastly you have to find a nice spot to hang it up....such as on your wall, mirror, or desk. If you have any remaining cutouts that you didn't use on the board, I advise storing them away in a plastic bag for the next time you need some inspiration.


Be aware that this will cause an overflowing mess in your trash and on your floor, like what happened to me, but this project is super fun and simple! This was also a great way for me to go through my large stack of (very) old magazines by my bed. Enjoy :)))

Finished project!!!


bottom of page