top of page

Why You Should Start Thrifting



"I'm gonna pop some tags only got twenty-dollars in my pocket...." it's amazing how much you can buy at a thrift store for $20 and most of the time this is more fulfilling to me than spending a fortune on one item I may only wear or use once. I absolutely love thrifting and going to antique and consignment shops. There's just something so fun about rummaging through racks, shelves and bins searching for that perfect find...one person's trash really is another person's treasure. A lot of my favorite purchases have been from a thrift store like $8 Puma sneakers, my favorite denim jacket from Goodwill, and a beautiful floral midi skirt. Thrifting may not only be a fun activity for me and honestly my main mode of shopping as a broke college student, but it's also great for the environment and gives back to the community.


I do admit as much as my closet is probably half thrifted, the other half is fast fashion. As much as I want to shop regularly at stores like Madewell, Antropologie, and Reformation which totally fits my vibe, I simply cannot afford it. Besides thrifting, I usually buy the rest of my clothing at TJ Maxx/Marshall's, Forever 21, or H&M. There are just some specific things I've been looking for on thrift store racks, but just end up buying at retail price and this is a mistake. I do recommend having some idea of what you're looking for, but don't limit yourself. But *ahem* I did thrift a Madewell sweater from Savers once so who's the real winner here?


I do consider myself somewhat of a thrifting connoisseur (if that's even a thing?) and anytime I go on vacation or find myself in a new place I have to hit the nearest thrift store...ALWAYS. Such as when I was in Texas a few weeks ago I walked to a local nonprofit thrift store down the street from my hotel and got a University of Texas shirt for *drumroll* fifty cents– wishing I can go back to Texas just to thrift. I also already made a list of thrift and antique shops in Sydney, Australia when I start my study abroad journey there in a few weeks...10,000 miles away from home and I still want to thrift. My obsession is that bad. To finally get to my point here's my list of reasons you should hit your nearest thrift store. Please run, don't walk.


1. IT'S CHEAP


Duh. This is basically at the root of why people shop at thrift stores; it's bargain galore. I have yet to thrift a designer item, but I'm sure one is probably waiting for me at the bottom of a bin.


And come on, I've been to "thrift" stores that are more yuppie high-end thrift stores that are priced sometimes above retail price...looking at you Thrive Exchange, not cool.


2. GIVES BACK TO THE COMMUNITY


Thrifting is not only an affordable option for people with a low income, but many thrift stores are charitable and nonprofit with The Salvation Army, Goodwill, and Savers being scattered everywhere across the country. The HCM Thrift Store which is where I went to in Texas benefits the local hospital so at times the store really is giving back locally. Some thrift stores even go the extra mile like Out Of The Closet which offers free HIV testing.


3. ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY


Are you one to use a reusable cup and straw? Or canvas/reusable bags instead of plastic? Well thrifting is just another way to help out the environment. Buying second hand lowers your carbon footprint as your preventing the production of new clothes, it decreases landfill waste, it reduces chemical pollution, and inspires green living. In one article I read about the advantages of thrift stores stated that "thrift stores are like humanity's hand-me-downs" which makes me laugh because I would always get my cousin's hand-me-downs and would dig through the bags of clothing like a kid on Christmas morning– basically the same tactic I do at a thrift store. Sometimes it's fascinating to think how many backs have scratched some of my thrifted shirts which can be an endless cycle until the shirt is literally worn through.


4. YOU CAN "THRIFT" IN BED


Too lazy to leave the house or endlessly search the racks for the perfect find? There are many apps that make it easy to buy and even sell items. These apps include Poshmark, thredUP, Depop, and Mercari which is the selling app that I use the most to buy and sell with some of my items selling in minutes.



These are some of my main reasons that I thrift, but while scouting through articles about this topic there are some reasons I never would have thought of such as it can be a way to make friends, you can find items you may not find at home (BRB thinking of all the cool stuff I can find at a thrift store when I'm in Australia), if you forgot something while on vacation you can buy a replacement for cheap, you can buy for re-sale, and you may actually find something that's worth thousands of dollars.


Thrifting is such a thrilling activity for me, I'm constantly urging to hit my local Goodwill or Savers. There are times when I'm shocked no one has grabbed this fascinating item or piece of clothing before me or when I'm overwhelmed by all the great things I'm finding.


And to all those who need to wait and think about buying something at a thrift or consignment store...DON'T DELAY. If you want it please just buy it regardless if you think it has value or not.


Walking into a thrift store and being hit with a wave of anxiety of how many treasures are hidden within those racks and shelves is a typical feeling you may get while thrifting. Sure you may get hit with that musty smell the second you walk in but who knows what items you may find? Thrifting is a way to find some bargains and save money (as well as make money) and is an eco-friendly and charitable option. When choosing between roaming the shopping mall or the endless racks at Goodwill please choose Goodwill or the many other independent or chain thrift stores. It'll make you, your closet, and the earth feel good.






bottom of page