top of page

Sarah's Summer Favorites



As there's only a few weeks left of summer I have decided to do a post of my summer favorites. This post will include my favorite beauty items, hair accessories, and books to name a few. All the products are linked in the name. Enjoy :)

This is my favorite palette I've ever bought. Yes, it's small, but it has all the shades you need. And it's cheap too! The warm shades are great for summer; you can either do a light or dark look with these shades which I love. This palette comes with a great variety despite its size. I use the "whisper" and "bff" shade the most. This palette will soon make an appearance in my fall makeup look that I will be posting in a couple weeks. Besides summer this palette has the shades to use all year long! The shades are super smooth and pigmented when applying and because of its compact size it's easy to travel with.


I've been using Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipsticks for about a year now and I've never regretted using them. I've used a whole range of matte lipsticks and nothing compares to Colourpop's formula. Ditch those Kylie Lip Kits for Colourpop!! My favorite shade is Clueless (pictured). Clueless is a pinkish-nude and is great for summer. I have very light skin so it doesn't look too dark on me either. This lipstick isn't too heavy either sometimes I go to wipe my lip and I forget I even have an ultra matte lipstick on -- definitely a plus! I wear this color all the time even if I'm home just lounging around or going out to some fancy dinner. It's also easy to apply and feels good on your lips -- just be careful not to over line. The only downside is it usually leaves a pink stain if you've been wearing it all day, but it's not too bad as it looks like a lip stain.

This is the best, inexpensive highlighter I have found. I currently use the "Lunch Box" shade and the pop/shine is amazing!!! It's super smooth and easy to apply. You can either apply it with your finger or a brush. My only caution is that you should be careful on how much you use, it's very pigmented so if you over apply you may look like the Tin Man -- from my experiences at least. It's also long lasting. I've been using this since the Spring and there is still A LOT left in the pan, it will probably last me years. There are a lot of expensive, but good highlighters out there, but if you want a good highlighter that is also cheap this is the one for you.

I received this Tarte blush as my birthday gift from Sephora so it's a smaller size, but I love love love it!!! I use the shade "paaarty" and it's the perfect shade for my light skin color. It adds a dab of color to my cheekbones without over doing it. You also don't need a lot also because it's so well pigmented and feels smooth on your skin. It blends easily and looks natural -- good for summer when you want that "no makeup" makeup look.


If you're like me and have tried all kinds of moisturizing lotions this is the one for you. I've tried both cheap and expensive moisturizers, but nothing beats this! It's makes my face smooth and combars all my dryness. You only need to apply a little bit of this lotion as it can feel a little greasy if you use a lot. I usually apply it on my T-zone and chin -- where my skin is most dry.

As well as trying multiple moisturizing lotions, I've also have tried A LOT of foundations for my acne-prone, combination skin. This Neutrogena Skin Clearing Foundation (Classic Ivory is my shade) is the best foundation I have found. I have just started using it this summer and it's easy to apply, it's long lasting, and it doesn't feel too heavy on your face, but it still covers up blemishes -- perfect for summer. I've tried all kinds of foundations, but they would make me break out which would turn into a cycle because I would then use foundation to cover up my break out spots. But that does not happen with this foundation, it perfectly covers my acne scars, my breakouts, and redness, but while still doing its job it works to prevent and control these breakouts. It's also oil-free, non-greasy, and it won't clog pores. This foundation is also very affordable for being so high quality. Why spend $40 on foundation when this does the same and even better? I highly recommend Neutrogena's Skin Clearing Foundation for summer and for all year round.


I got the Miss Dior Eau de Parfum for Christmas and it is one of the best gifts I have received. It's not only perfect for summer, but for all year round when you want the perfect sweet, floral smell. It's sophisticated, feminine, and classy. Every time I walk into a room people always asks what smells so good -- duh its Christian Dior!!!! I usually dab a little on my wrists and behind my ears and it lasts all day. This is my signature perfume!


Like any blogger you have to own a pair of Superstar Originals, but the hype is real. They match with almost any outfit: jeans, leggings, dresses, skirts --- they're so versatile. You can't beat it!!! You can either dress them up or down. They're also super comfortable too which you don't find often with super cute shoes. The only downside is that they can get dirty quickly especially the laces, but you just have to stay on top of that and watch where you walk. (not pictured)

Mario Badescu has descended from heaven to bless the world with his rosewater spray. This is one of my all time favorite beauty items!! I started out using the 4 oz, but I go through it so quickly that I now use the 8 oz. For the quality and name it's super affordable as well. Whenever you need a refresher in the morning or afternoon you can just do a few spritz around your face, I sometimes also spray around my hair. The first time I used this product I was in heaven in smells insanely good. It also does wonders for your face, usually when I have dry skin I spray around it and it instantly gives me a fresh and dewy look. Out of anything I have mentioned in this post this is the product I recommend the most. Mario Badescu, I love you.


If you've been scrolling through your Instagram feed in the last few months you have definitely noticed that scrunchies are no longer a thing of the past. They are definitely making a comeback! I love these velvet scrunchies that I bought at Francesca's. I use the pink one most often, but a blue and beige color also comes in the pack. These scrunchies have a great stretch and is good for thin or thick hair. I've tried other scrunchies before where it's hard to tie my hair in a ponytail or bun, but these work significantly better and keeps hair into place. Plus they're super cute. I love matching them to my outfits or just wearing it around my wrist if my hair isn't back. (photo courtesy to Francesca's -- my phone wouldn't email the photos I took to me)


This is a pretty old book and maybe the type of book you'd like to read when your snowed in for the winter, but I recently just finished this book and let me say I am officially a fan of Stephen King. I usually groan when I make myself read long books with a small typeface, but it is so worth it!!!! My heart was racing throughout every chapter and I could not put it down. This is the first book I have read that made me truly scared, sometimes I couldn't even sleep at night. King knows the exact formula of horror novels, he had my attention the whole book which is hard to do with 600 pages. If you've only seen the movie (which I love as well) you should definitely read the book. (not pictured)

A teacher of mine recommended this book to me and wow it was amazing!!! This is the type of book that makes you think, and that is exactly what I did. After I read The Handmaid's Tale I couldn't stop thinking: what if this really is the future? How did Offred and the other Handmaids live like that? Would I be able to live like her? Did Atwood predict the unforeseeable future? This is a very heavy book that touches on controversial issues, but it is well worth the read. I know many like cute, romance novels for their summer, beach read, but this book has made me think differently and is much worth your while. Atwood has created a dystopian society that feels almost like reality. She has perfect the art of a dystopian novel. This is a truly remarkable novel. (not pictured)

I hope you guys enjoyed my list of summer favs! I'd love for anyone reading this to try a few of these products out as you see fit. All these opinions were my own. Totally dreading going back to school, but this summer has been fun and I'm so glad that I started this blog!

bottom of page