top of page

Skincare Review: GLAMGLOW Minis (Sephora Birthday Gift)



One of the many reasons I get excited for my birthday is for the free birthday gift mini you get from Sephora if you're a Beauty Insider. In years past, I have gotten a mini Marc Jacobs lipstick and Taste blush all which I have now lost. This year Sephora offers GLAMGLOW and Bite Beauty minis. I knew I had to go for the GLAMGLOW kit as it has been praised by influencers and seen on celeb instagrams. I'm not one to spend $50+ on skincare products unless I know it's guaranteed to work on my sensitive skin so these minis were a great choice to test out if the formula will work for me.

The birthday mini comes with the SUPERMUD clearing treatment and the GLOWSTARTER mega illuminating moisturizer:

The SUPERMUD treatment retails from $59 - $79 on the GLAMGLOW website. It is made up of activated charcoal that is designed to clear the toxins and dirt from your pores and boy did it work! I could visibly see all the grim lifting from my pores especially on my nose-- which wasn't a pretty sight as my nose is always the most clogged. After I washed the treatment from my face in the shower my skin immediately felt great and free of all the gross toxins and dirt. I'm not sure of how this mask works in the long term, but while writing this my face still feels smooth and clean.

Pros of SUPERMUD mini-

~ The activated charcoal drys super fast, but once it drys be sure to wash it off quickly as it can get super firm and it can start to crack (per my experience)

~ Washes off easily with some warm water + a face cloth

~ My skin felt super clean and smooth after

~ Didn't irritate my skin

Cons of SUPERMUD mini-

~ I'm not sure how great this product works in the long term with my acne and sensitive skin

~ The charcoal dried kinda uneven on my face, but that was most likely my fault for not applying a thin layer (I didn't realize it dried so fast!)

~ Made my fingers messy with the charcoal when applying (but it washed off easily)

~ The retail price still seems a little too high, but there are great dupes out there

As mentioned, the kit also includes the GLOWSTARTER hydrating moisturizer mini (came in the nude glow shade.) GLOWSTARTER retails for $49 on the GLAMGLOW website. This moisturizer of course hydrates your face, but also radiates it with illuminating pearl particles which I loved!!! Most moisturizers just hydrates the skin, but this one goes the extra step to illuminate it. After applying it, it gave me a little sheen and some glow without being overdone. My skin still feels great after applying it!

Pros of GLOWSTARTER mini-

~ Long lasting

~ Doesn't feel greasy

~ Has a great Creamsicle smell

~ Balances my skin tone

~ Great for those "no makeup" days

Cons of GLOWSTARTER mini-

~ Again, I'm not sure how great this product is in the long run, but it sure feels great now

~ Also the price is iffy, but I'm sure there are dupes or you can make your own with liquid highlighter and a cheap moisturizer

Overall, I do think GLAMGLOW's products are overpriced when there are the same products out there for cheaper. But I loved both the SUPERMUD and GLOWSTARTER treatments for how smooth and radiate they both made my skin! If I was to buy one over the other I would definitely purchase the GLOWSTARTER for the glow it gave my skin and the great smell-- although some may not like the scent.

Love, Sarah xo


SUPERMUD MASK

The SUPERMUD treatment applied

on my face after it was activated.

bottom of page