top of page

The Right Way To Put Stickers On Your Laptop



Do you really have a laptop if you don't have stickers on it? Everyone these days seem to have stickers adorning everything: phone cases, water bottles, and of course laptops!

Stickers on your laptop also seems like a must have item for college students. For many it's a way to express yourself.

The thing I love about stickers on belongings is how they can tell a lot about a person: if they're adventurous, into pop culture, or into sports. But the one downside to stickers is commitment. You may change your mind a day, a month, or year from when you apply the sticker. Will you really want that Supreme sticker on your laptop a year from now?

Here are some tips and tricks when decorating your laptop and to get the best out of your stickers:

1. Please please please buy a case and put stickers on that-

Personally, I have commitment issues with everything including stickers so I would hate to put a dollar sticker on my MacBook Air that was $1,200 so instead I bought a cheap, clear case on Amazon (linked here) and applied my stickers on there. So if in a month I start to dislike my stickers I can just either remove my case and have a plain laptop front or buy a new case and apply new stickers. Additionally, if you have to be in the professional workplace then you can just take the case off and have a plain laptop and then put it back on when you want.

2. Express yourself-

Purchase stickers that reflect your hobbies, interests, or personality. For example I'm a huge movie buff and I'm into pop culture, so I have stickers of my favorite movies (The Shining and Fantastic Mr. Fox for example) and a Leslie Knope and Taylor Swift sticker. Someone looking at my laptop will totally know that these are things that I love! Stickers on your laptop or someone else's can also be a great conversation starter!

3. Be sure to apply stickers the correct way-

I've seen many people accidentally put their stickers on backyards including some of my friends and you definitely don't want to make that mistake especially if they're sticking right on your laptop. If you're applying stickers I recommend putting your screen up first and make sure your stickers are facing down. You want your stickers facing the right direction when the screen is opened and not when closed. If you make that mistake you may just have to roll with it.

4. Places I recommend to purchase stickers from-

So most people may already be aware of Redbubble. But Redubble is my favorite website to purchase stickers. Redbubble is a sight that allows independent artists to sell their artwork into stickers, mugs, shirts, notebooks, etc... and they get paid for it! Redbubble has so many great stickers for all people that are less than $4 each. There are often discounts as well! Additionally, I love Brandy Melville stickers which I buy for cheap on the selling site Mercari. A lot of stores also include stickers with purchases including skincare favorite, Glossier and sneaker company, Vans. Many companies also offer FREE stickers if you fill out a form. Click the link here to find out what companies offer this.

5. Personalize it-

In addition to expressing yourself through stickers, add your name at the corner of your laptop! I found old sticker letters in my closet (that you can find for cheap at a craft store) and wrote my name out in them. This is an idea I got from Pinterest, but something I haven't seen around. So make your laptop stand out!

And that's it! Go into the upcoming school year with a decked out laptop that will totally show off your personality and interests.

Sarah, xo


Here is the finished product of my laptop complete with all my favorite stickers. What conclusions can you make about me based on my stickers?

bottom of page