top of page

Travel Diary: 12 Hours in New York City


This past Thursday I traveled to New York City. I took the 6:33 am train from Hartford, CT to Penn Station and arrived three hours later. While in the city I met up with an internet friend of mine and spent the day with her. The day started out super cloudy, but evolved to be a hot and sunny day.

Here’s all what I did during my 12 hour day in my favorite city-

Museum of Sex-

We first stopped at the Museum of Sex which is of course for people 18+ only. We got there for when they opened at 10:30 am so it wasn’t busy yet. They have a great gift shop when you walk in with their logos on merch, condoms, flavored lube, and of course everything else in between which I’d rather not include here. Tickets for the museum cost either $17.50 or $20.50 depending on the day and time and an additional $3 to Jump For Joy. The Museum of Sex had interesting exhibits including sex archives and the sex lives of animals which of course I won’t explain here. You just have to see for yourself!

Link here for more info!

Strand Bookstore-

The Strand is my all time favorite independent bookstore! I always have to stop there whenever I’m in the city. It’s such a unique bookstore with floors and floors of new, used, and rare books including many gifts like pins, socks, mugs, stickers, and canvas bags. I didn’t buy any books during this visit, but I filled up a "Make America Read Again" canvas bag with many cute pins to add to my collection. Also they have super cute murals and chalkboards outside!

Pietro Nolita-

One day I was scrolling through Instagram and found this cute restaurant on a location tag. It also seemed to be a popular place for bloggers due to it’s cute pink interior and mural on the outside and also a place for foodies due to its Italian fare. Me and my friend walked in around noon on a Thursday and sat right down at a table which I was surprised because the place is super super small. I got the chicken sandwich which was excellent, but be aware that they only taken American Express and cash and they DO NOT split checks. After you eat be sure to take artsy photos on the mural outside to fulfil your blogger dreams.

Kelsey Montague Wings Mural-

This mural is on the corner of Kenmore Street and Mott Street and is a top photo spot in NYC. It'S also not too busy (at least when I went!)

Sezane-

I’m so happy I made a stop at the Sezane store because it is gorgeous inside and out with its flower assortment on the outside and the “Bonjour New York” tiles on the inside. There is also a free photo booth inside! Grab your camera and have a photoshoot at this store. It’s a bloggers paradise!

Bulletin-

In addition to Sezane, Bulletin is another cute store. The colors in the store are so bright as well as with the “I’m a Fucking Lady” sign that really pulls the store together. They also have really cute feminist merch for badass women, but it is a little bit pricey for what they were selling.

Cha Cha Matcha-

For a quick refresher I stopped at the popular matcha store, Cha Cha Matcha which you may or may not see a lot on your Instagram feed. They have a few locations around the city (I stopped at the one on Broome Street) and bought a swirl soft serve (vanilla and matcha flavor) and a matcha lemonade. So refreshing and delicious! Also be sure to take a photo with your matcha and the “Matcha Gracias” sign and the other cute decor inside!

Gucci-

Of course I had to make a stop at the new Gucci store on Wooster Street. I never been in a high fashion luxury store before, but it was GORGEOUS inside and the employees were so helpful and accommodating. Me and my friend has a really great conversation with the girl helping us- it made me feel so good! The new store is so spacious and has a screening room in the back complete with ornate furniture. I absolutely adore the design and how open it is!

Galeria Melissa NY-

This is another gorgeous store complete with LCD screens when you walk in and a room with giant 3D printed stars that reflect off of the mirrored walls. It is another prime spot for Instagram photos. It is so pretty inside this space and I never wanted to leave.

Glossier-

And whenever you’re in NYC you have to make a stop at the Glossier store! This time I had to wait in a small line outside to get in, but I got in quickly. The space is so adorable with its selfie mirrors and Glossier pink decorations and the employees are so cute in their jumpsuits. It’s just so hard to visit and not buy anything so of course I had to buy another Balm Dotcom as well as Boy Brow and the Milky Jelly Cleanser. I absolutely love Glossier’s marketing towards young women and their packaging IT’S JUST SO MILLENNIAL and I always keep going back.

Other places that I made quick visits to- by Chloe (Soho), Cookie DO, Aerie, and Prada.

Well so you can see that it was a busy day for me, but I had such a great time finding these perfect places in NYC and of course I took pictures at all of them to keep my Instagram and VSCO feed looking fine. We may have took the wrong Subway back and had to get a cab to take us back to Penn Station, but besides that it was an error free and drama free day. NYC is so beautiful in the summer and I’m glad I finally got to have a city trip ! Not sure when I’ll be back, but I’m sure it will be another great time worth blogging about.

Be sure to keep the places in mind above when you plan your next city trip!

Sarah, xo

Links to my outfit-

PHOTOS IN ORDER BELOW-

bottom of page