top of page

My Favorite Spots in Boston


Since I’ve been living in Boston for over two months now, I definitely know of several great spots around the city that tend to be less touristy than Faneuil Hall and Fenway Park. I chose Boston for college because I love the people, the attractions, and the sports-- of course. Here is a versatile list of my favorite locations around Boston including places to eat, take pictures at, to shop, and more! All the corresponding photos will be in the slideshow below.

Dumpling Cafe- I ate my first dumpling at the Dumpling Cafe in Chinatown and it was a great experience. The pork dumpling oozed with broth as I bit into it and it was so tasty. There is usually a little wait, but it’s worth it even if you have to wait outside in the cold.

Top of the Hub- I know a lot of people that think the Top of the Hub restaurant, which is on the 52nd floor of the Prudential Center, is overpriced and clearly they are right. But I recommend ordering a dessert and/or a drink and take in the breathtaking views of Boston from above. Also snap a lot of pictures while you are up there-- the panoramic views are spectacular.

Harvard Square- I absolutely love Harvard Square and the area surrounding it. It’s a great break from the bustle of Boston with great shops and places to eat. I recommend the Border Cafe, a Tex-Mex restaurant in Cambridge, and walking around Harvard Yard.

Beacon Hill- Beacon Hill is a lovely spot any time of year, but especially during Halloween when a lot of the houses put up lavish decorations complete with light shows and professionally carved pumpkins. But on any day, it is nice to take a stroll through the hill and take in all the beautiful apartments and the side streets. Also there are always cute dogs being walked.

Explorateur- Explorateur is a cafe and restaurant situated on the corner of Boylston and Tremont. Opened in 2017, the Explorateur is housed in the Grand Masonic Lodge with an intricate mosaic design on the outside. This is my favorite study spot as it’s spacious with long wooden tables and the fare is delicious. Additionally, the Explorateur often hosts parties and movie nights in their Library room.

Animal Rescue League of Boston- As I’m away in Boston for college, I miss my pets a lot. When I need my animal fixing I often going to the Animal Rescue League to see all the cute animals they have such as dogs, rabbits, and cats. The staff is super welcoming and the animals are well taken care of. It's also a great way to relieve stress.

Urban Renewals- Of course I love The Garment District in Cambridge, but it is a tiny bit overpriced. So, I prefer Urban Renewals in Allston for thrifting. It has all things from clothing to books and to furniture. And it always takes me a good hour to rummage through the racks, but it’s worth it for great deals. However, it is cash only.

Chaitime- Chaitime is a teahouse in Chinatown and surrounds many other bubble tea places, but this has to be my favorite spot among the others. I personally love to order the peach green tea.

Public Garden- Surprisingly, I never knew the Public Gardens existed before I moved to Boston, but it’s a great spot all year round. My first weekend in Boston I rode in one of the swan boats that they have in the warmer months and I read a book under a willow tree by the pond. It was such a great start to living in Boston. But as the weather gets colder, it’s still nice to take a stroll around the gardens. Don’t let the weather hold you back! There are often several performers lining the pathways which makes for an even better park experience.

Rose Kennedy Greenway- The Greenway is a cute addition to Boston and it’s definitely preferable to enjoy during the summer, but regardless it’s still a nice place to walk and to sit. It has cool murals, a sculpture garden, and a farmers market. Overall, it’s a great sanctuary in the middle of a busy city.

Love, Sarah xo

bottom of page