top of page

Travel Diary: My Weekend in NYC


Over the weekend, I took a girls trip to New York City with only one goal, which was to explore the city during the holiday season. And that was succeeded. Here’s a breakdown of what I did during my short trip to NYC. I’m surprised of how much I fit in to a 24-hour period. Enjoy!!!

Where I Ate

Two Hands (164 Mott St)- I’ve seen a lot about this Australian fare on social media so I finally decided to eat here on Saturday for lunch and I got a B.L.A.T (bacon, lettuce, avocado, tomato) and it was delicious. There was about a 30-minute wait when me and my friend arrived, but it was worth it! The space is smaller than I thought, but it’s so cute and nicely decorated– great for pictures.

Cha Cha Matcha (373 Broome St)- During the time I was waiting for a table at Two Hands, me and my friend stopped here for a matcha drink as it was a two minute walk from each other. This was my second time at Cha Cha and I loved it even more this time around. I ordered the seasonal Peppermint Matcha Latte and it was SO good. I’m not a huge matcha fan due to the bitterness, but the peppermint balanced out the taste of matcha for me, so I loved it even more than your typical matcha drink. I wish this was a drink Starbucks had so I could get it everyday. I also love the interior of Cha Cha– it’s so fun with a “matcha gracias” sign and fake palm trees. It’s a bloggers paradise.

Shake Shack (1 Old Fulton St)- Since me and my friend had a fancy lunch we decided to go to the Shake Shack by the Brooklyn Bridge last minute partially so we can charge our phones, but also to have a delicious burger. This is a pretty big Shake Shack (compared to the ones I been to) and the service was excellent. It’s also a cute spot right on Brooklyn Bridge Park overlooking Manhattan. Unfortunately I didn't get a picture of my tasty and juicy burger.

The Bagel Shop (1659 3rd Ave)- Of course you have to get a class bagel when you’re in the city. I was so looking forward to have a New York bagel for Sunday breakfast and this did not disappoint. There were so many options and I just ended up with a toasted everything bagel with cookie dough cream cheese (yes, cookie dough!) and an iced coffee. Unfortunately, I only ate half of the bagel as the cream cheese was good, but a little too much for me at 8 a.m. Also all iced coffee usually tastes the same to me, but the iced coffee that I had here was heavenly and definitely energized me for the day. This shop also has a wide variety of cream cheese flavors even beyond cookie dough like scallion bacon and birthday cake. I was unaware that all these cream cheese flavors were a thing. I’m looking forward to return to this place next time I’m in the city.

Where I Shopped

Glossier (123 Lafayette St)- This was my third time at the Glossier flagship store in NYC, but my first time visiting their new space. Their renovated store is larger – the old penthouse did get insanely crowded and stuffy at times – and it’s more interactive with several large (fake) boy brow bottles, a whole lot of mirrors, and a section to test their products. Upon walking in their is a beautiful staircase with a skylight that directs you towards makeup and skincare heaven. The lighting is also good and there’s several places to sit if needed. Even though, this store is larger than the original flagship and does get crowded super quick and you do still have to wait in line to get in (at most 10 minutes.) This time around, I only bought the coconut balm dot com and my order came out within minutes. This store is such a dream and I never want to leave everytime I visit. My camera roll is now filled with mirror pictures of me. Additionally, I love how social media friendly this store is as well as the millennial pink.

Winky Lux (430 W Broadway)- I found this place on social media the day before I arrived in New York and immediately knew I had to visit. What I loved about this place is that they have a pop-up experience in the back that features several of their makeup products including a disco ball room with mirrors on all sides, a tea party room, a room decorated with flowers, and lots more. You are also led through the experience in your own small group with an employee. What I also loved about the experience is that it costs $10, but you get the $10 back in store credit. So for the $14 flower lipstick I bought, it was only $4. I spent so much time browsing in this store and the whole time the staff was super sweet and accommodating. Additionally, I also bought an eyebrow pencil, which I’m excited to try! Winky Lux definitely reminds me a bit of Colourpop and Too Faced, but with even more than makeup such as jewelry and candles.

Laduree (398 W Broadway)- I quickly stopped here to buy some macaroons (strawberry, framboise, and vanilla) and they were so delicious, sweet, and delicate. This was surprisingly my first time trying Laduree and it did not disappoint!

Victoria’s Secret (640 5th Ave)- I didn’t buy anything from this store, but this is my all time favorite VS store! On the 3rd floor they have a display of the fashion show designs complete with videos, photo ops, pictures, giant murals of the models, and even the actual outfits and wings themselves! When I visited they even had outfits and wings from the most recent 2018 fashion show. The staff was also super friendly and helpful. This time I skipped all the racks of clothing and lingerie and went straight for the 3rd floor as I’ve visited this store before. The store generally seems well stocked and clean. Whenever I’m back on 5th ave I’m down for a visit.

Holiday Displays

Of course I got to partake in the holiday season while in NYC. Although, it was insanely packed I got to see the iconic Rockefeller Center Tree, the holiday light show on Saks, Radio City, and the giant ornament display. There were also many Christmas tree stands scattered around the city which made me burst with Christmas joy. All together, the city was nicely decked out for the holiday's with trees, lights, and lavish displays. I definitely felt the spirit everywhere. And oh, for an added bonus while I was in the city Santa Con was occurring. I totally recommend visiting NYC during the holiday's. Despite the crowds, it is magical.

Sarah's Style Diary

Day 1- Multi-colored sweater with tan a-line skirt and booties

American Eagle Multi-colored Sweater- This beautiful rainbow collar sweater seems to be loooong sold out so I'm unable to find an exact link except the occasional Poshmark link so here's the link to all of American Eagle's current sweaters.

Tan Skirt- I bought this skirt years ago from TJ Maxx so I can’t find a link online, but linked here is a similar version.

White coat- I accidentally bought this from Primark in the wrong size so it's huge on me, but here's a link to it.

Tights- Here's the link to the H&M tights that I wear with almost EVERYTHING.

Black Booties- I love these Chelsea boots from Target and I wear them practically with every outfit in the Fall and Winter. They're so cute and they go with any look. Linked here.

Night 1- Navy crushed velvet bell-sleeved blouse with a black skirt and booties

Crushed velvet blouse- I'm unsure of where I originally got this shirt as I got it years ago, but I couldn't find the exact version online. However, here's a link to a similar navy crushed velvet top. If you're looking for anything crushed velvet Forever 21 and Shein carry a lot of crushed velvet clothing.

Black skirt- I'm also unsure of where I bought this skirt so here's a link to a similar one.

Same coat, tights and booties as above.

Day 2- Tan turtleneck with vibrant scarf and jeans

Tan turtleneck- I also bought this years ago at TJ Maxx, but here's a link to the exact one listed on Poshmark.

Two tone jeans- I recently bought these gorgeous jeans from Old Navy, but it's all sold out online. Here's a link to a similar version.

Vibrant scarf- I bought this scarf recently from Primark and I love how cozy and vibrant it is. However, I bought this in store and I'm unable to find the exact link online, so here's a link to all of Primark's scarves.

Western belt- This belt from Amazon is linked here.

Steve Madden slip-ons- What girl doesn't own these slip-ons? If not they're linked here.

Coat- This beautiful dusty trench coat is from H&M, but I thrifted it at the Garment District in Cambridge, MA. I'm unable to find the exact coat online, so here's a link to all of H&M's coats.

Click through the slideshow below to see each look in action!!!

I also stopped at additional places that didn't fall under a selection such as Taylor Swift's Tribeca apartment, Brooklyn Bridge Park, and the MET.

Happy Holiday's!

Sarah, xo

bottom of page