top of page

How To: Memory Jar



Instead of writing a post about my 2019 resolutions/intentions I want to write about a yearly tradition I have for myself: reading through my memory jar.

So for the past several years I’ve been filling a Mason jar with all my favorite memories from the year and reading them on New Year’s Eve. It's something that I look forward to every year.

I originally saw this idea on Pinterest and when I first started my own memory jar, I never thought I would stick with it, but it’s become a tradition for me.

When I moved to Boston this September for college I even brought the jar with me to continue this tradition even when I’m away from home!

So this January start the year off with an empty jar (any jar is good) and anytime something good happens write it down, fold, and place it in the jar! I usually write down a fun event I went to like prom or a concert and accomplishments like graduation and starting my freshman year of college.

I use white sticky notes to place in my jar, but on Pinterest I’ve seen people use a colored key for different type of events, accomplishments, and moments.

I also add a label to the front of the jar with the year to make it look more fancy.

And on December 31, you can open the jar and read all the good memories and all the amazing things that happened to you during that year.

I even store my old memories of the previous years in a plastic bag so I when I’m reading that current year, I can also go back and read through all my other accomplishments and fun moments.

Overall, this jar is a sort of yearly time capsule and it’s a great way to reflect at the end of each year and see all that you’ve done and accomplished.

Have a happy and healthy 2019 ladies and I hope you try this out!

If you try this please tag me on any social media @thesarahdipity for me to see and share!

Happy 2019,

Sarah, xo

P.S– here's my year in review video that I made using leap second and imovie: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_i3rli8eCuc

bottom of page