top of page

Travel Diary: Salem, Massachusetts


When you see the name, Salem chances are the first thing that comes to mind is the Salem Witch Trials; something that we've been learning about since elementary school and the horrors that were committed in this small town. However, present day Salem is a blast and there's so much to do all year round– not only during the Halloween season. Last weekend, me and friend hopped on the commuter rail from Boston to Salem and had a great time exploring the spooky shops, learning about Salem's history, and finding great photo spots! Even though it is only April, I quickly was transported to October in Salem. People were wearing Halloween-esque outfits, tours were still going on, and the weather actually felt like it was the fall– but without the crowds.

I visited during the off season, so some places were closed, but we still filled up our day with adventures! Here's a list of places to visit when in Salem during peak or off peak (and click through the slides to see all my photos from my trip!)

Where We Ate

Brew Box (131 Essex St)- I've had this cute local coffee shop on my list forever and it was the first place I visited in Salem! The staff is friendly and my iced latte was arguably the best one I've ever had. Also they have the CUTEST wallpaper with yellow stools which makes for a great photo (check out my most recent Insta post ;))

Howling Wolf Taqueria (76 Lafayette St)- This is where my friend and I ate lunch and it was delicious! Service was quick and the atmosphere was popping even on a Sunday afternoon. Come here for the best Mexican cuisine in Salem!

Mr. Crepe (83 Washington St)- This cute creperie is where me and my friend ended our day trip to Salem as it was a quick walk back to the train station. If you're not in a rush it's such a cozy place to sit and relax and enjoy their great crepes and other varieties of food!

Where We Shopped

Modern Millie (3 Central St)- I told myself I was only going to spend money on food in Salem, but ended up buying the most adorable sunglasses at this vintage boutique for only $15! The staff was also super friendly and there was such a huge selection of prints and styles such as a lobster print dress and flowy skirts. The clothing here is expensive, but the accessories are reasonably priced. This boutique is so vibrant and a hidden jewel in Salem!

The Coven's Cottage (190 Essex St)- This witchcraft inspired store was bustling on a Sunday morning and I only spent a couple minutes inside, but this place really seems to embody the spirit of Salem! You couldn't take any photos inside the shop, but they have all things from crystals to sage and even cauldrons. This store was such a great experience from its heavenly scent to the beautifully decorated sights and peaceful sounds, it's such a unique trinket shop that stands apart from the others in Salem.

Haus Witch (144 Washington St)- There are so many cute independent boutiques in Salem which seem to embrace Salem's long history and Haus Witch is another notable shop. Haus Witch has a great selection of local art, one of a kind Salem souvenirs, vintage and secondhand furnishings, and house made cleaning products. The space is also nicely decorated with brick walls and spooky window art! You don't even have to buy anything in this shop to enjoy its healing powers– it smelt SO good just walking around checking out their products and the staff was super friendly and radiated kindness.

Freaky Elegant (221 Essex St)- This was by far one of my favorite shops in Salem as it carried so many awesome apparel and gifts related to Salem and horror movies like "The Shining," "Halloween," "It," and others! The moment I entered this store I instantly felt like it was Halloween season and not the beginning of April– there were fake bloody hand prints on the floor and the backroom was lit with spooky lighting. This was definitely my kind of place and I ended up buying a shirt of my favorite horror movie, "The Shining." This store knew me too well. If you love horror movies and Halloween and general I recommend checking out this novelty store!

Harrison's Comics and Pop Culture (252 Essex St)- I may not be into comics, but this 80s vibe shop has an extensive collection of horror movie inspired toys, collectibles, vintage posters, CDs, and more! I probably spent 30 minutes just looking through all the posters seeing what I could find. This was such a fun store and even if you're not into comics like me, they have other cool stuff that may capture your interest. Also Hulk and E.T statue is a nice touch.

Witch City Consignment (301 Essex St)- I spent about an hour in this thrift store digging through old photographs, debating with myself if I should buy an Ouija board that was for sale, and being in awe over the old Barbie collectables that they had. They have something for anyone here and who knows you may find something that's one of a kind if you dig through the piles enough!

Great Photo Spots

Witch House (310 Essex St)- This all-black house really encapsulated my vibe for the day and is the only structure still standing in Salem with direct ties to the witch trials of 1692. There was no line to take a picture in front of it (which I assume there is one during Halloween season) and you can pay $10.25 to take a tour of the inside, but to save money I just recommend admiring it from the outside.

Brew Box (131 Essex St)- Again, Brew Box is on the list because the black and white floral wallpaper and yellow stools makes for a great Insta pic especially with your drink set against it!!!

Pickering Wharf (23 Congress St)- For photos by the water, I recommend coming here because it is a short walk from the center of town and gorgeous especially when the sun is shining down.

Other Notable Spots

The Burying Point (Charter St)- This is the oldest cemetery in Salem and it's a peaceful place to take a stroll through and to admire the old headstones. The Salem Witch Trial Memorial also borders this graveyard– a great spot for a history lesson!

An Art Gallery That I Can't Remember The Name Of- So I can't remember the name of this art gallery I visited on Essex Street nor can I

find the name online, but it was coolest and funkiest gallery I've ever been to! There was a surprise on every wall. Including a sign that read "Fit Bit Challenge" pointing up to the stairs to enter the gallery and a carpet that read "Perfect for Moving Dead Bodies." You'll defentiely get a kick out of this place!

It may not be Halloween time, but Salem is a great place to visit all year round! Hopefully my travel guide has inspired you to get spooky and book a trip to Salem!

Sarah, xo

bottom of page