top of page

Style Diary: Boston Pride + What To Wear To Pride


Happy LGBTQ+ Pride Month! This pride month is extra special because it marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots which served as a catalyst for the gay rights movement in America with the first pride parade occurring a year after the events at the Stonewall Inn in Greenwich Village.

Pride celebrations now happen around the world from New York City to Amsterdam and even Iceland. Pride may now be associated with rainbow flags, rainbow covered merch, and lavish parades that draw in large crowds of spectators, but we must not forget its roots as a social and political uprising which was originally led by trans women of color.

This past Saturday I attended my first pride march in Boston and had a blast celebrating Stonewall’s anniversary and the LGBTQ+ community. LOVE IS LOVE. I will also be going to New York City’s pride march at the end of the month.

You don’t have to be apart of the LGBTQ+ community to celebrate pride and take part in its festivities. If you’re going as an ally please have fun and go in judgement free, but be respectful of pride’s history and the queer people around you. And just a reminder that straight pride isn’t a thing.

If you’re thinking of attending a pride event (check here) in a city near you, I rounded up my favorite pride looks including accessories, clothing, and more!

First I'm going to round up what I actually bought and wore to Boston Pride and then link other great looks for pride. To shop click the item above the photos to be redirected to the site.

My Boston Pride Look


Earrings | Temporary Tattoos (can't see in this photo but it's on my hand) | Denim Shortall | Top

Other Great Pride Looks

When buying outfits for pride it is good to make sure you buy from companies that are giving a percentage or if not all of the sales from purchases to LGBTQ+ nonprofits such as GLAAD, GLSEN, and the Trevor Project. Unfortunately none of the items that I wore to Boston pride benefited back to the LGBTQ+ community, but I wish I looked more into this when buying my look for pride. Several of the fashionable items below are committed to giving a portion of sales to LGBTQ+ nonprofits.

Happy Pride! Just a reminder that it is ok to love who you want to love!

Sarah, xo

bottom of page