top of page

My Sydney Harbour Bridge Climb Experience


Yesss that outfit!!! All smiles on the descent down the bridge with the city in the background!

The number #1 thing I wanted to do during my time in Sydney is climb the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge through Bridge Climb and on Halloween night I finally got to ascend the 1,332 steps to the very top at 134 meters. Opening in 1932, the Sydney Harbour Bridge (also dubbed the "Coat-hanger" because of its unique shape) is a spectacular feat with incredible views of the harbour and the legendary Sydney Opera House with about 200,000 vehicles crossing the bridge each day. Bridge Climb, which opened its doors in 1998, hosts climbs to the summit daily with adult prices ranging from $174 to $403 depending on the type of climb and the time– luckily I got a 21% of coupon which brought the cost down.


My bridge climb experience was fantastic and there is NOTHING negative to say about it. From the time I checked in to the time I unzipped my suit post climb and bought my photos, the whole process was so smooth and all the staff members were incredibly kind and helpful.


My climb was at 6:25 pm so I did get to see some of the sunset while climbing, but by the time I got to the summit it was dark which honestly I believe this is the best climb to do! You can see Sydney in the remaining daylight and at night too plus the temperature is cool and there is no blinding sun in your eyes (seriously I think the sun is SO much more intense here!)


The Bridge Climb experience works like a well oiled machine from start to finish. Simply preparing for the climb took a solid 30 to 45 minutes, but it's so worth it and all these preparations made me feel so much more comfortable. So at exactly 6:25 an employee took us into a private room to sign ~those~ forms and to take a breathalyser test (save your celebrations until after!) From there everyone in the group (can't remember the exact number but the groups are small) introduced ourselves, locked our belongings, and we all got suited up. My suit looked so huge on me and I was worried about the size until I put all the equipment on and I realised why they make them so big– there's A LOT of equipment and stuff hanging off you. Additionally, you can't have anything on you not even a scrunchie which I was told to take off my wrist. So everyone had to go through a metal detector to make sure they don't have their phones or anything else that is prohibited. From there everyone puts their equipment on which is super easy as everything is already laid out for you, all you have to do is step into the buckles and such and tighten. Also depending on the time of day and weather you get extra equipment so for a night climb we each had fleece jackets hooked up to us and headlamps, but say if it was a day climb we would all get baseball caps. After this, there's a simulation of the ladders that you have to climb on the bridge to get on and off which made me feel more prepared! Finally, our leader (shoutout to Courtney you were the best!) hooked headphones on us so we could hear her talk and lead the group while on the bridge, we all got latched onto the bridge, and finally where were on our way to go!


I gotta admit all day before my climb I was pretty anxious and I think it was all the anticipation, but during preparations and once we started walking out onto the bridge, I felt at ease and super excited to reach the top! The whole experience was exhilarating, I was on a high all night.


So for the summit climb, you start below the highway and walk on a deck (photo below) for a bit above land. From there you reach the South-East pylon and have to climb up four ladders to the start of the upper arch. The ladders weren't as bad as I thought they would be, but this was the only part that I was actually a tiny bit nervous for once on the bridge because it's a little bit to climb and there's cars whizzing pass– at one point my latch got tangled while climbing the ladders and my legs were shaking from climb. But after this it's so rewarding once you reach and upper arch and finally the summit! After reaching the summit you cross the bridge to the other side where Darling Harbour is and make your descent down with yay more ladders! The total time of the summit climb isssss 3.5 hours!


This is a photo I took right before check-in of the under deck of the Harbour Bridge where you begin your climb. Once you get to the brick pylons in the back you begin your ascent up.

Once you reach the upper arch, there's a load to stairs to get to the summit, but the stairs were not terrible AT ALL like I thought they would be. The stairs are not steep and slowly ascend upwards so I wasn't actually out of breath ~luckily~. Additionally, what I also love about Bridge Climb is how many photos they take of you! There's three seperate spots for photos where you get three shots in each location plus the group photo at the summit (that you get printed for free at the end) and a free optional video. I had my photo taken while climbing up to the summit, a photo of me with the Opera House behind me at the top, and a photo and video while descending. I also learned so much about the bridge and Sydney from the guide and my guide constantly checked up on everyone in the group to make sure they were doing ok.


The certificate I got at the end of the climb + the free printed group photo!

This is truly the best experience I've done in Sydney. The bridge climb runs so smoothly, you feel super safe while on the bridge, and the views are breathtaking. I

cross the Harbour Bridge almost everyday while taking a bus or train to the city and after climbing the bridge it has new meaning. Each and every time I visit Sydney in the future I plan to climb the bridge. It was such a joyful experience and one I will never forget!


Bridge Climb Tips


1. Try to be towards the front for the climb- Once you're latched onto the bridge you can't move spots so you have to ensure if you're in a group you're next to someone to take pictures with and if your climbing solo like I did make sure you befriend the person in front of you and behind you for some good conversation. And I say to try to be at the front of your group so you have more time to rest after climbing the ladders and some time to really stop and look out. There can only be one person on each ladder at a time so me being the third person in line got to be one of the first to climb the ladders, but then you had to wait for everyone else to climb so while waiting I had time to rest and look out at the view.


2. Eat and drink well before- Please eat before your climb and make sure you are well hydrated! I treated myself to a good dinner before my climb to make sure I didn't go hungry while on the summit. As mentioned, you can't bring any belongings with you on the climb not even a water bottle so please ensure you are hydrated. However, there is a water fountain right before you trek out onto the bridge and a water fountain before you climb the ladders onto the arch so you can have a quick sip before you set out. There is also a little cafe in the Bridge Climb lobby so you can have something to eat once you arrive.


3. Wear comfortable clothing- Make sure you're wearing good sneakers and comfortable clothing! Everyone does get a suit for the climb, but if you have a sweater on underneath it may get too hot. I had loose pants and a t-shirt on and I felt super comfortable. You can also bring your own glasses and sunglasses on the climb if you need to.


4. Don't book too far in advanced; book about a week before so you know the weather- The Bridge Climb usually doesn't sell out unless there's a major event going on in Sydney so you're safe to book a few days before. I booked on a Sunday when my climb was going to be that Thursday and some time slots were sold out, but there were still plenty of other times. Sydney is generally is dry city, but it does still rain and it can be heavy at times so if you book a few days before you can check the weather and make sure it'll be a good day to climb because the climbs do operate in all weather unless it's serious.


5. Tie your hair back- It can get a little windy up there, so I recommend tying your hair back so it's not all in your face and obstructing your view.


6. Lastly, HAVE FUN- SO many people have done the Bridge Climb including celebrities like Will Smith, Hugh Jackman, Ben Stiller, Gigi Hadid, Prince Harry, and many others so you will literally be walking where they also walked. Even if you're afraid of heights, the Bridge Climb team ensures safety and makes sure you have support before, during, and after the climb. So let go of your fears and create some memories!


Happy Climbing! Let me know if you have climbed the bridge or plan to climb in the future on my Instagram @thesarahdipity :)


Sarah, xo

bottom of page