top of page

Study Abroad: How To Create Your Own Fall During A Southern Hemisphere "Spring"

Happy Spring! That's right while it may be October, I'm currently studying abroad in Australia where I have my second spring of the year. As much as I love spring and warm temperatures and blooming flowers my brain is having a hard time associating this with October now instead of cooler temperatures and falling leaves. Fall is my favourite season so I am a little bit sad to be missing it this year, but I know next fall will be extra special for me. In this post I want to cover some of the things I'm doing to get in the fall spirit despite soaring temperatures.


1. Create a fall playlist

I created a fall playlist on Spotify a few years back, but it's coming in handy during this Southern Hemisphere spring! It may be coming into bikini season, but when I listen to songs that remind me of fall I am instantly transported back home to a New England.


2. Decorate for the season

It may be spring Down Under, but Halloween is still celebrated– not as much in the US, but it's becoming more of a thing. So Halloween decorations do exist here! I picked up a few Halloween decorations at Daiso and hung them up in my room to make it feel more like Halloween back home.


3. Follow fall Instagram accounts

There's a few fall Instagram accounts including bloggers that do a great job of capturing the essence of fall on their feeds. I'm going to list a few here: @kjp (whose feed is FALL HEAVEN) @noelledowning, @rachmartino, @kylefinndempsey, and @cmcoving. Whenever I see fall/Halloween related photos from these accounts I can briefly ignore the warm temperatures for a few minutes.


4. Change your phone or laptop background to something fall related

This is another thing that is super simple to make it feel more like fall! You can easily find a fall background on Pinterest or by a quick Google search and every time you're on your phone or laptop you can feel comforted by this background.


5. Watch your favorite Halloween/horror movies

Ok sureeee I do watch horror movies all year round, but it feels extra special around Halloween when it's chilly outside. I'm trying to watch only horror or Halloween movies this month so hopefully I can ignore what's happening outside at least for a bit. Make yourself cozy, light a fall candle, and put on your favorite Halloween movie on Netflix.


6. Light a fall scented candle

Let the fragrance of fall permeate your whole house! This is something I haven't gotten around to buying yet, but next time I hit the store I'm hoping they at least have some Halloween inspired scents that I can buy.


7. Grab a PSL at Starbucks

Thankfully, pumpkin spice latte's are a thing at Australian Starbucks! The other day I was at my local Starbucks here and got a PSL, but it was so hot it just didn't feel exactly right!!! Drinking a PSL still helped put me in a fall mindset for a bit. And you can asked for an iced PSL so if it is too hot for hot coffee and iced PSL is the way to go!


8. Update your fall Pinterest boards

Pin some fall photos to your Pinterest board to feel the fall inspo flowing! I'm linking my fall Pinterest board here.


Well there you have it.....some ways to create your own personal fall when it definitely doesn't feel like it. Happy Spring? Y'all! #justsouthernhemispherethings


Sarah, xo

bottom of page